Marshfield High School Athletics
               "To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift." Steve Prefontaine

District Main

MHS Home

 Athletic Department

 100 Year Football
History Project
      Fall Sports
      Winter Sports
      Spring Sports
   Forms & Fees
   Hall of Fame
   Pirate Radio
   Pioneer Women
   Photo Archives
   Ticket Prices
   Video Archive

contact the



Female Athletes from 1949 to 1976 to finally receive their letters

Pioneer Pirates receive letters at February 4th ceremony click here for more photos

On February 4, 2006, the Marshfield High School Athletic Department awarded a Varsity Letter to all Marshfield female athletes who competed in OSAA (Oregon Scholastic Activities Association) sports programs prior to 1976. Over 160 female student-athletes represented Marshfield in varsity sports from 1949 to 1976.  Letters were awarded to these individuals at a reception held in the Marshfield High School cafeteria in the late afternoon on February 4th. Later that evening, during the half time of the Marshfield vs. Lebanon Girls Basketball game, the recipients of these Letters were honored in front of our hometown crowd!

As you may recall, commencing in 1976, Marshfield High School began awarding Letters to all of its Varsity team athletes, both male and female. These are the team sports for women and the year that the OSAA began sanctioning each sport

  • Tennis -1949

  • Swimming & Diving - 1952

  • Gymnastics - 1965 (discontinued in June of 1983)

  • Track & Field - 1966

  • Cross Country - 1974

  • Volleyball 1974

  • Golf - 1975

  • Basketball -1976

  • Soccer-1977

  • Softball-1979
The following athletes have indicated they will be in attendance at the ceremony











  Marilyn Haliski
Gaye Knapp

Anne Guenther Messer
Angie Guenther Morrison
Mary Paczesniak
Vickie Crumpacker
Barb Kohler
Peggy Eddy Lucas
Janie Chiene Miller.
Janet Farr
Helen Brunell Mineau
Linda Prefontaine
Karen Richardson
Alice Austin Sichting
Kathe McNutt Stufflebean
current MHS Swimming coach
Marilyn Wilson
Fran Auer Worthen MHS Hall of Fame
Cheryl Bates Duman
Jennifer Bates
Cheryl Bell
Syd Holte
Vickie Hunt
Sheri Knapp
Claudia Herman Moore
MJ Koreiva
Ramona Warzecha Stanley
Dana Hickey Childs
Christy Davis
Tina Rausch Smith
Jeanette Wright Sinclair
Diane Walker

Ellen Braulick Bassett
Sally Huggins
Ralph Mohr
Mary Paczesniak
Phil Pursian
Jan Rust
Would you like to share your knowledge of Pirate history?  E-mail the athletic director, Greg Mulkey,  and share your memories.

Here is a short write-up on women's volleyball history from 1973 to 2003 written by Mary Paczesniak.  Girls Volleyball 1973-2003

Take a look at our photo archives.  We are always looking for more photos.  If you have photos you would like to share e-mail Greg Mulkey.  Here is our athletic department photo gallery.


web page hit counter